‘Ace of Diamond’ Bats Straight to the Heart

Hi everyone! At last, I have finished watching Ace of Diamond last week thanks to the long holiday (holy week). I started watching this anime coz i’ve noticed that my co-bloggers Shiro and Crimson have taken a liking to it (or to Miyuki Kazuya in particular) and that got me interested. I’ve also been into sports anime lately (since Haikyuu) and this craze might last for quite a while, considering the number of other sports anime in my to-watch list. 😀

Anyway, this is my first time writing a post about my personal thoughts on a particular anime i have watched. This contains my purely biased opinion but have fun reading. ^^

 

The Game, Baseball

Baseball is actually a sport I am not very well acquainted with. I know the common terms like batter, pitcher and catcher but never the entirety of the rules. This is not a very popular sport in our place or even in our country (i think) that’s why I had a lot of misconceptions about it.

Before i watched this anime, i believed that catchers are just players that catch the ball and nothing else. I never would’ve thought that they’re actually a really important player acting behind the scenes. To those who don’t really know the game, pitchers and batters would’ve been the most eye-catching players. Catchers don’t probably stand out much. Well, that’s how it was for me. They’re kinda like how setters are in volleyball. I certainly learned more about the game while watching this anime and i realized that baseball is an interesting and exciting game.

 

The Story

Truth be told, the story of this anime resembles Haikyuu (or Haikyuu resembles it) in some way. The part where Seido (Karasuno in Haikyuu) strives to get to Koshien (Nationals) after some years of being unable to is one example. Well, i guess some sports anime does have some similarities in this area. But also, Sawamura (a newbie with talent) and Miyuki (the genius) are like Hinata and Kageyama, speaking of the role they play in the anime. Both have done a good job dramatizing a single game to the point that i can’t take my eyes off my laptop until the game finishes.

The resemblance aside, sports anime like this don’t really fail to make me feel a mix of emotions. The tension from every pitch, excitement from steals, frustration from every missed ball/strike (and batter out), happiness from a victory and grief from a loss… the thrill i get from every game, I’m already missing it! The development of friendship among the players is also notable. It can be seen that there is an internal rivalry among the players of Seido—competition for the first string players and the ace position. Even so, each player learned to trust and support each other, even their rivals, for the sake of the team. 

 

The Characters

The characters had the most impact on me so far after watching the first season. I thought that the character art is so-so at first, not the type that i’d go crazy for at first glance. But well, there are lots of interesting characters here. Being a team sports anime, it’s not only focused on the main character but mostly on the whole team and sometimes on their opponents too.

Sawamura Eijun (the MC) isn’t really my type (haha, yeah) but he’s actually a good character. He’s a loudmouth and an idiot but his hard working attitude makes up for it. The first character that caught my eye is obviously, the genius catcher Miyuki Kazuya. Knowing that he is popular, i paid a lot of attention on him thinking ‘Why is this guy so well-liked?’ I do get that he’s got good brains for baseball and a bit too cheeky to boot but i wasn’t quite into him until after several episodes coz my attention was snatched by the stoic captain, Yuki Tetsuya! ❤ He has a calm but strong presence and leads the team through his hard work. I just love characters with such personality.

There’s also this gorgeous catcher Takigawa Chris Yu, who had a really unpleasant entrance, dead eyes and all, but i turn to like him later on. His change in personality—from a gloomy, disagreeable senpai to a charming, saintlike adviser to Sawamura—really stole my heart. 💘

Among the first years, there’s Furuya Satoru who’s a strong pitcher but i really like Haruchi (Kominato Haruichi) coz he’s just so cute! I really have a thing with blushing guys. (´∀`)♡  He’s great in both batting and fielding like his brother. It’s just frustrating that his eyes are covered by his hair. One of his eyes was shown on episode 43, but my goal for the next season is to see both. 😉

He’s really adorable, don’t you think?

The second years aren’t quite noticeable except for Miyuki. I said above that i wasn’t quite into him at first. He became much more interesting when the real games started. His real talent was shown in every game and it’s amazing how he can bring out the best with the pitchers on his team. He takes a gamble when faced with adversity but somehow it all works out in the end. That’s the sly genius for you, haha. Now i see why he is popular. He’s really adorable as a child too.

Okay, another cutie. >.<

The first string third years plus Chris (aside from the 3 first years and Miyuki) really nabbed the spotlight this season. They are all really good at their respective positions and it would be really great to see more of them but unfortunately, they’re graduating and i guess they won’t be in the second season. Yuki and Chris-senpai will be gone. *cries a river* Well, it’s time for the first and second years to shine.

I have finally watched the 75 episodes of the first season but I’m already looking forward to the next season which is, fortunately, already airing this season. Though i guess i’ll wait for it to finish first before i officially start watching. 😀

33 thoughts on “‘Ace of Diamond’ Bats Straight to the Heart

  1. I cried a river and will probably do that again when I reach that part on my rewatch. I am halfway through my rewatch but I think I am dreading that end >< Btw, the 2nd season is already done! (just) so you could go ahead & watch it 😀 Idk about me, I am still wallowing in my third-years despair over here 😥

    Glad I managed to convince another fan woohoo! To be honest I really feel a special bond with all the characters you mentioned. I give Miyuki lots of attention, but my love extends past him ❤ That's why I love this anime so much, as well xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • So you’re actually rewatching it? Haha, you really love it that much you’re willing to cry another river. XD Oh really? I thought it’s still airing so that’s sooner than i expected. I’m watching another sports anime right now so i’ll probably… start the second season.. after that. Oh no, no Yuki and Chris-senpai there. *sobs*
      Yup, thanks for that. That’s another good anime to remember. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I am in the middle of rewatching it, but I don’t think my heart can take a second time of crying >< yep unfortunately it has ended at51 eps and I don't know when s3 is coming 😫

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh well, if you ever continue watching until the end make sure you drink lots of water okay? You don’t want to get dehydrated. XD I’m still conditioning myself for the season 2. Just thinking that Yuki and Chris won’t be there makes me sad. But hey! A season 3 of Haikyuu is coming! I’m so excited. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha I will 😀 I will make sure I do that. I will have to get to that stage of conditioning myself as well >< I really hope they still feature in Season 2, but I know its no longer the same since they aren't playing in the same team anymore 😥
      I heard Season 2 of Haikyuu ended on a cliffhanger! Good news is, yay more Haikyuu in Season 3! Bad news is, now I have to wait for Season 3 to finish airing before I can marathon it all … but maybe I wouldn't be able to wait for that xD

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, good luck to you. 😀 Yeah, i really hope to see them more… maybe a glimpse of their college (or after high school) life would be fine too.
      Well, not very much a cliffhanger, i think, coz it stopped after the semi-finals not in the middle of the game like what happened in YP. But the next season is certainly something to look forward to. (i already know what will happen from reading the manga) Waiting is really the worst part but you have to endure. Or maybe you can also start reading the manga like me. XD

      Liked by 1 person

    • I like the slice of life parts in Daiya because I am invested in the characters and want to see more of them 😀 so I agree with you, I want to see more of their post high school life as well 🙂

      But oh that is a cliffhanger of sorts for me! 😀 anything in the middle of a game is for me anyway. Maybe it’s cos you read the manga, which is why you aren’t so bothered by it xD I don’t like to read sports and action manga myself because I sometimes get confused with what’s going on in the action so 😅

      Liked by 1 person

    • Me too but i don’t want to expect coz it’ll break my heart if there’s nothing about them in season 2. ;_; Oh yeah, maybe that’s really the case. It’s actually better to watch a sports/action anime than to read their manga. I’m just too impatient sometimes and i can’t help but want to know what happens next so i read. XD

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha yeah, I mean, I would appreciate it if they appear on the sidelines. But as I have mentioned, I think its still not the same as them playing in the game 😦
      Oh haha, I’d rather savour the story together with the cool animation and coloured art xD So I’d rather wait for it to continue (the anime) than go read the manga hahaha.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, thats when they were the most amazing. Though an OVA/Movie about them would be great. Haha.
      Oh, i guess so. Well, i love reading so reading the manga is good enough for me. Though it’s better if there’s an anime. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha its not that I don’t like manga, I just find it hard to understand what’s going on in the action scenes. So I gave up after trying a couple of times xD I read a lot of shoujo where there’s no action though lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, that’s true. We can’t guess how the character moves when they use their special attack or something like that. Haha, at least you tried. Yup, there’s minimal action scenes with shoujo so it’s relatively easy to understand.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I guess I am the only one who’s bothered by not understanding every detail of the action xD Yeah, though I admit some shoujo titles have action too as well. Let’s just say I tend to read lesser of those LOL.

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s true. Also because I find it easier to read shoujo hahaha. I can predict what the words are so I just skim over everything fast, and sometimes without thinking lol. Especially the not so good ones that I read to kill time mainly xD

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, i can actually read pretty fast with shoujo too. I usually check out and read those unpopular shoujo manga when i felt like doing so. I even find some unique ones from those. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha oh really? Me too! Actually I am currently ordering shoujo manga alphabetically and starting from the top lol, just to see if there are any unknown titles that I can chance upon xD You’re right, there are a lot of hidden gems. I don’t like to pick the popular ones because my tastes run a little into the strange territory sometimes xD

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha, i’ve done that too! But i guess i stopped somewhere in the middle and forgot to continue. Haha. Well, there are just so many shoujo mangas out there. And more are being produced and translated. We’re bound to discover rare ones. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • I stopped somewhere in the middle as well too because I was doing that before exams as a surefire way to kill academic boredom but now exams are out and I am back to anime and other more time-consuming entertainment again xD I am surprised at the amount of shoujo manga to be honest. But it makes me happy cos it increases the chances of finding rare stuff xD So its all good 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • Truee! And there are those that has more than 50 chapters too. Reading them all will take a lot of time. I may not be able to read from next week onward (until October). ;_; I hope there will be more updates on my favorite manga by the time i came back to reading tho.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, and surprisingly they aren’t titles that are actually commonly heard. In fact, I think I am always surprised at how long some manga are but they are never in the spotlight xD Haha that is actually the best attitude when we are too busy to read manga. Waiting for chapters is like a huge pain lol!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, i guess most readers only bother looking for the new ones coming out. The old but good ones don’t get that much attention then. Yes, really! If only i can translate Japanese to English, i will volunteer to translate some. Unfortunately, i am don’t know any other language besides my own and English. *sigh*

      Liked by 1 person

    • (Oops can’t believe I forgot about this!) Haha exactly, especially if the older ones also have older art? Personally I would be more biased towards newer art so I’d tend to skip over the older ones. But then again, some older ones have great stories! Haha, I guess I would volunteer as well, but unfortunately, I have very little motivation in learning the language. My discipline for learning Japanese is on and off, the only thing that motivates me are light novels and games and even those aren’t enough xD

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha it’s okay. This will probably be my last reply here for six months. The next comments will be after my exams .
      Yeesss. And I also like the newer art coz, of course, they’ve improved. I am not very hard working that i’ll study other languages too. I just hoped i’m a half japanese or something. Hahaha, jk.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your preferences on characters are more similar to mine. I preferred Chris and many other characters over Miyuki. I do like him but he wasn’t a favourite. I especially liked the third years and Haruchi so I kind of lost interest when the third years left so I’m not caught up.
    Yuki Tetsuya is definitely ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Any comments?

